Blog review | The power of music

Being a music blogger it can be quite challenging to input your own perspective on new blogs without sounding biased. In other words, we all have our own taste in music, therefore, creating content that will appeal to every music lover across the board poses to be a challenge of its own. Nevertheless, when taking the approach that music, in one way or another, has impacted every single one of us in its own way, the topic of discussion becomes relatable for all readers.

Take for instance, Border Personality Disorder (BPD) survivor, JoAnn Ryan, who created her own health and wellness blog, Midnight Harmony.  On one of her blogs titled, “Memo at Midnight: Thank you, powers that be, for the gift of music“, JoAnn provides a sense of homage to the universal language of music as she states, “When life gets to feeling like one sucky moment just seems to continually subside to another sucky moment I’m so incredibly thankful that music is here with it’s magical powers to heal the soul.” I greatly appreciate JoAnn’s explanation, as I find it to be applicable to the majority of the people in the world. Think of a specific time in your life that is associated with a significant feeling; whether it be: love, hate, rage, sadness, happiness, or depression. Usually, when we feel such strong emotions, as the ones listed above we tend to turn to a song that suits that sentiment. Thus, when reading JoAnn’s blog I couldn’t help, but feel a sense of relation to her situation. Although I may have not suffered from BPD directly, I have encountered my own demons of depression, and when I would feel down I would turn to singer/rapper Kid Cudi,  who has suffered from anxiety and depression himself. Cudi’s songs have helped not only me, but many other victims of depression get through a difficult time. For example, looking at some tweets Kid Cudi is tagged in, it is inevitable you will find people thanking Cudi for sharing his truth through his music, “Hey @KidCudi, when I was really going through my depression I listened to Reborn everyday and it was one thing that kept me motivated. Now that I’m feeling better I just want to say THANK U for being someone who has been by my side or in this case in my ears throughout years” @kvasconcelos22. Nevertheless, albeit JoAnn’s blog is focused on health and wellness, I think including a blog that discusses the power music holds, is greatly effective, for when reading the blog anyone can relate to JoAnn’s words and recall a time they, themselves turned to music as a type of outlet.

In closing, JoAnn Ryan ends her blog, “Memo at Midnight: Thank you, powers that be, for the gift of music”, by what I interpret as a type of tribute to the many artists who have played a major role in her life, through her ups and downs. So, in appreciation to JoAnn’s blog, I shall end this blog in the same manner; here are some artists who have played a vital role in the war against myself. I would not be the same open minded, happy, accepting person I am today without the influence of their music.

Music is one of the greatest mindfulness exercises you can practice, especially for those of us who seem to forever be fighting to get control of our brain’s psychological functions. Enjoy it!

JoAnn Ryan

One thought on “Blog review | The power of music

  1. Wow, thank you so much for the recognition and kind words! 🙂
    I’m glad that you were able to connect with my little post about the power of music. Best wishes!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started